It’s the Season Premiere of “Miz Nattie’s Chattie”

Hello, My Darlings!

Yes, yes.  It HAS been a while.

And, yes.  Of course I missed you terribly as well.

Sometimes life gets in the way, but the important thing is…I didn’t forget about you and thought of you often while we were apart.

Let’s get reacquainted.  Shall we?

When last we met, the temperatures were warming, the sun was shining, and I was ready to blow the popsicle stand known as my daily life and routine.  And boy, oh boy, did I ever!   My… summer…was…I-N-C-R-E-D-I-B-L-E!

It was the Summer of 2013.  The Summer of NO PRESSING and NO STRESSING!

IMG_2704
The Theme for Summer 2013. God Bless the Greeks.  They get it.

This theme began during an UH-MAZING trip to Greece with my husband to visit my sister and brother-in-law who are currently living on the island of Crete.  It was glorious.  Not a care in the world. No time card to punch. No deadlines to meet. No emails to return.  No phones to answer.  Just day after day of beautiful beaches, delicious feta cheese, refreshing wine, and above all–RELAXATION!  I came home from two decadent weeks in Greece with the best tan I’ve had in years, feeling like a wine swilling, feta cheese eating bon vivant (I don’t know what the Greek version of bon vivant is called, but you get the idea)– and I was determined to stay that way for the remainder of the summer.

Unfortunately, I took my relaxation and bon vivanting a little too far.  I slept in, barely ran (I blame the heat and humidity), ate like every meal was my last, and treated each hour of the day like it was my very own personal happy hour!  CHEERS!

My summer of gluttony was only reinforced by a series of girls nights out, trips to the beach, a long weekend in Newport, Rhode Island for the Jazz Festival, and nearly the entire month of August with my summer’s Special Guest Star, my baby sister, Alex–who, just weeks after our Greek adventures had ended, decided to fly home to surprise our dad for his 75th birthday.  Her inability to read and understand time resulted in her missing her flight home to Greece and extending her visit with me by nearly two weeks.  BARTENDER!  ANOTHER ROUND!  MAKE IT A DOUBLE!

Then, as if in the blink of an eye…   LAST CALL!  YOU DON’T HAVE TO GO HOME, BUT YOU CAN’T STAY HERE!  The temperatures are beginning to cool and the sun is dipping lower in the sky as the trees are turning shades of red and gold to welcome the fall.  Work is hectic and requiring long hours of my time to attend to tight turnarounds and looming deadlines.  Sigh.  Now, I’m nursing the summer hangover.  TAKE TWO OF THESE AND CALL ME IN OCTOBER!

With that, we return to our regularly scheduled programming.  I’m getting back into a running routine, saving my cocktails for football parties, and thinking twice before pulling into the Chipotle parking lot because I’m too lazy to cook dinner.  And I’m back to my blog.

So this season, you can expect regular postings on topics related to my preparation for the February 2014 Disney Glass Slipper Challenge, my feelings about the work “TWERK” being forced into the human lexicon by one Miss Miley Cyrus, my experiences with French Canadians, home invasions, home improvements, and a variety of culturally insignificant and inconsequential ramblings about the world around me.  It promises to be more entertaining than much of what TV executives have in store for the fall television season.  So stay tuned!!

2 thoughts on “It’s the Season Premiere of “Miz Nattie’s Chattie”

Leave a Reply

