Infertility Sucks Rotten Eggs (And Other Malfunctioning Reproductive Parts)

April 21-27, 2013 is National Infertility Awareness Week (NIAW). I was invited to share a few thoughts (easier said than done) about my journey with infertility. Truthfully, I feel like I could talk for days about this topic, but if this video had taken any longer to complete, I would have ended up with a profanity-laced blooper reel, for sure. And frankly, I had to stop recording it over and over because I’d watch the video and all I’d see is my mother’s face staring back at me and hear her voice coming out of the computer speakers. How in the warped hell did that happen?!?! Plus, I now have a complete appreciation for Marco Rubio’s paste mouth troubles after this process. Salt lick anyone??

Anyway, if there is anyone out there struggling with her/his/their own infertility and would like to seek out a great resource for more information and support, I highly recommend Resolve: The National Infertility Association (http://resolve.org). While the story of my infertility struggles and quest to start a family are far from over, I’m just glad I am able to be a part of this important and necessary conversation that affects so many.

4 thoughts on “Infertility Sucks Rotten Eggs (And Other Malfunctioning Reproductive Parts)

  1. You know what, Natalie? My mom’s infertility was such a gift to me! I hope that makes sense. You will definitely be a gift to some lucky boy or girl. Hope your gift finds you soon!

    1. Wow. Hi Brenda! That TOTALLY makes sense and I know you were as much of a gift right back to your mom! I know this will all work out the way it’s supposed to…just wish it would happen a little quicker! I hope you are doing well!

  2. So, I was shamelessly behind on my Ms. Nattie’s Chatties, and am catching up. The nail salon…mmmm good thing I wasn’t there to go Jersey on the tramp! The above article and video…WOW….just WOW… You really are incredible at the writing and speaking woman!!

    1. Thanks, Candace! I’m finding this whole thing to be quite therapeutic!! That poor train wreck at the nail salon wouldn’t have known what hit her! All that self-tanning lotion and hair bleach has clearly taken its toll on her!

Leave a Reply

